My 2011 Financial Goals

Well, I’m a few days behind, but I thought it was important to post some financial goals that I have for myself that can be accomplished over the course of the year.  I have never done this before, but I’m hoping that it will help me in holding myself accountable, since as I explained before, I don’t really adhere to a budget.  Then, I can check in periodically to see how I’m doing!

1.  Open up an IRA and deposit the max allowed for the year – I have wanted to do this for ages, and in retrospect I probably should have done this years ago.  However, up until now I have had the need to keep my savings very liquid when I was saving for a down payment on a house.  Now that we have paid that down payment I would like to finally achieve this goal!  I would like to deposit for 2010 and 2011 this year, but I need to do some more research first.

2.  Pay $10,000 towards our mortgage principle – This is a lofty goal and I’ll definitely need assistance on this one from my husband (so I hope he’s reading!), but we are big advocates of paying down debt quickly.  While I know paying down our mortgage will not go as quickly as paying down our car loan, at least this would be a great start!  We already pay an extra $150 each month towards principle, but this is going to be in addition.

3.  Spend $0 on Christmas presents in 2011 – No, this doesn’t mean that I won’t be buying anyone gifts for Christmas!  I would like to keep track and save all the money and gift cards that I earn throughout the year and spend that on Christmas!  There are a few key things I do that bring in a little spending money such as earning Amazon gift cards through Swagbucks and participating in surveys that I plan on saving for the end of the year.  I am going to write a separate post to detail my plan!

I think these 3 will keep me busy for the year!  Since this is my first year I don’t want to get in over my head and stress about not meeting my goals.  We will see how this year goes and maybe expand next year!

Has anyone else written down some 2011 Financial goals?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

