Online money management

I have a confession to make. 

I do not currently utilize a budget.  Gasp!  I feel like I have a good grasp on my spending and definitely save money wherever possible, however I do not keep track nor do I enforce limits of spending on myself.  Do I think I need a budget?  I’m not quite sure.  In theory I would love to budget my money more carefully and watch my savings grow to new heights.  However, I also would like to feel the freedom to spend my hard earned money in any way fit.  I’m on the fence when it comes to a strict budget.

Anyway, aside from that rant, I have signed up for an online money management tool called Mint.com.  It’s a safe and secure website where you can track and view your spending/saving in any way you see fit.  You can use it as a place to see a snapshot of your “net worth” or you could set up budget amounts and use it as a way to track your spending.  Given my “on the fence” attitude for my budget – I think it’s a great tool no matter where you are in your budgeting life!  It’s incredibly easy to set up, it’s completely free, and as I said you can customize it to work for YOU!  Even if I haven’t set up an actual budget for myself, one thing that I would really love to do this year is to more closely track my spending.  I would love to see how much I save annualized!  I know that using Mint.com is going to help me achieve this in 2011.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

