Dining out on a budget – what works for me

If there is one thing that I’m not willing to take out of my budget, it’s eating out!  We only eat out once every week or so but I really enjoy it and look forward to a nice meal that I don’t have to prepare or think about.  Dining out can be very expensive, but it doesn’t have to be!  There are 2 sources that I mainly use in order to snag some great restaurant coupons (other than scouring the internet for dining deals!). 

For the last 4 years I have purchased an Entertainment book.  There are several things that I like about this book, but the buy one get one free entree coupons are at the top of the list.  This book also helped us alot living in a new area because we used the coupons to try out new restaurants.  The books are currently 40% off at entertainment.com and if you use Ebates you will earn $6 cash back.  When I looked up my zip code the book came up as $21.  After using 2 free entree coupons, the book has paid for itself!  If you are a new Ebates member you will earn $5 cash back, plus $6 cash back for the book so that brings you down to a $10 cost!  If you are a Shopathome member you will earn $7 cash back for the book and an additional $5 if you are a new member – $12 total!  Another thing I really like about my book, are the Safeway coupons on the first page.  $20 in coupons to a grocery store that I frequently shop at make this book a money-maker to me!  Hurry though, all coupons expire on November 1.

The second source I use for restaurant coupons is Restaurant.com.  This website offers different denomination gift certificates to many restaurants in all areas.  (Areas near large cities will most likely have more restaurants available)  $25 gift certificates will cost you $10, however, they will often have sales starting at 50% off to 80% off.  Wait for these sales to purchase a gift certificate!  Most gift certificates will have restrictions, so make sure you read the fine print before you buy!  Also, don’t forget to use Ebates to make your purchase!  You will receive 15% cash back with Ebates!

Also watch out for special deals and promotions that are going on at restaurants in your area.  Like the free Grand Slam breakfast at Denny’s tomorrow that I posted HERE!

Happy eating out!!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Dining out on a budget – what works for me

  1. Pingback: Hot Entertainment book deal! « The Coupon Controller

Leave a Reply

